Implementing the 4 Hour Work Week

Well, actually, I’m a long way away from it, though hopefully getting closer through the Thirty Day Challenge.

Today I wanted to mention that I’ve begun the process of decluttering my life – which Tim does suggest in the book.  Here’s what I’ve done:

1.)  I went through all my papers that have built up over the years.  This includes multiple stacks of printouts, articles I cut out of the paper, etc.  Got rid of quite a few bags full.  Most of it was stuff that seemed important at the time, but years later, it isn’t.

2.)  I collected all the magazines I had, loaded most of them into bags, and dropped them off for my church’s magazine table.  They sell the used ones for a quarter apiece.  I made sure to cut the labels off!  For new ones, I evaluated my subscriptions and let them lapse if I didn’t really read them anymore.  I carefully think about buying new ones, and try just to tear out the articles I want if I do.

3.)  Went through all my clothes and got rid of a bunch that I never wear, or that don’t fit.  I’ve put on some muscle so even if I get back down to fighting weight they won’t fit anymore.  Seven bags to Goodwill or the Veterans.

4.)  Books.  This is the hardest.  First, deciding which ones I know I’ll never read or read again, and then finding a way to get rid of them.  I can:

a) Give them to the library

b) Sell them on Amazon.com

c) Sell them to a used bookstore

And I’m using all three methods.

This will all help when we move as well, since there will be less to pack.  I just keep remembering:

“The more you own, the more it owns you!”

Scott

Leave a Reply

