Finished Toastmasters Speech #2!

At long last I finished my second Toastmasters speech!  I am now 20% of the way there.  I set a goal for myself of finishing all ten of my speeches (to qualify for Competent Communicator, what used to be CTM) by the end of this year, so I have to get working on them.

My speech was about a three pronged approach to health – Body, Mind/Heart, Spirit.  A lot of it was from research I’ve done, and Stephen Covey‘s The 8th Habit gave me the backbone.   I’ll post the speech in the future.

Overall, it went well, but some of the things I need to improve on are:

1.)    I need to slow down when speaking

2.)    Watch nervous body language – command the stage

I’ve gotten a little better at both, but still work to do!

Scott

2 thoughts on “Finished Toastmasters Speech #2!

  1. Congratulations!
    Keep going now, it IS possible to complete the CC manual in the time you’ve set, but you’re going to have 9 Months to do 8 more speeches. Might I suggest that you schedule them ahead? It offers a number of benefits, breaking down your big target, providing deadlines to keep you on track (and a little bit of pressure at times), and forces you to keep a good eye out for speech topics so you don’t run out of ideas!

    Don’t forget the new CL manual as well – it gives you a way of achieving more even when you aren’t scheduled to provide a full speech 🙂

    Good luck 🙂
    Mark

Leave a Reply

