Learning New Media

I’ve been blogging for three months now, and I’ll tell you, it isn’t as easy as it looks. Picking a subject, I think, is the hardest part. I guess I could write just about my life but I didn’t start this as an online diary. Picking one subject seems to be the way to really boost readership, but I have too many interests for that. I guess I could do multiple blogs, but that’s just scary.

Thanks to pghbloggers and Podcamp Pittsburgh and STBD, I’ve really started to get interested in new media, such as blogs, podcasts, video, and so on. It’s not so easy, since I really don’t have a lot of contact with that world. I’m 36, which seems to put me on the outer edge of the age group that’s doing this stuff. I mean, I have a Myspace account and it seems like most of the people I know that are my age don’t.

I really like this stuff though, and I think it’s because it holds out the promise of using my creativity. When I was a kid I wanted to make movies or start a newspaper, but I never had the materials to get either going – and now, with New Media, it’s even easy!

But there’s so much to learn, being as the field I went into was pretty far from this stuff. So I’m stumbling along, working on baby steps, and trying to get to know some of the players around Pittsburgh – problematic, again.  And I feel like I’m so far behind the curve…

Anyway, that’s just some random thoughts for the day. Any ideas, comments, suggestions?

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

