NaNoWriMo progress report

So far I’ve written 2600 words on my novel, which means I’m roughly 8000 words behind.  I think the main reason is that I really have lost interest in my characters. That goes to show the importance of really getting to know your characters first.  Who are they?  What’s their history?  What are the little details that make them human.

Plus, the plot isn’t as exciting as I thought.  I guess in the hands of someone really talented, like a John D. MacDonald, it would be better.  But the suspense genre can be hard, and I was always more of the Jack Higgins / Alistair MacLean writer myself.  This book was more of the MacDonald type.  I started reading him in high school, and every now and then since.

The big thing is, I wanted to set the novel in Pittsburgh, and I figured mystery was the best way to do that.  But I don’t care to read them that much, and of course, you should write what you enjoy.

So now, the question is, do I:

1.)    Abandon it, start over, and try to write another by the end of the month

2.)    Grind through it anyway

or

3.)    Abandon it and work on the other more leisurely?

Decisions, decisions….what’s your input?

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo progress report

  1. Grind through anyway. My novel is complete garbage, but I am enjoying it!

    Oh, and the lightning bolt of inspiration hit me over the weekend. This was when the characters a. told me where the novel should go and b. what the name of it should be.

    Good luck!

  2. Grind!

    I had a horrible chapter two and had practically stalled out totally, was 4K behind, and desperate. So what I did was left the old chapter two in to keep the word count up, started a new page called “Chapter Two Redux” and started all over on that part. It worked! I’m caught up!

  3. Abandon it and write like crazy on a different idea. I did that last year and made it to 42,800 words. That is by far the most I had written in a month at that time.

    Good luck on your novel!

    Sara

Leave a Reply

