Beginnings

My latest story is annoying me. My main character is turning into a cold, unfeeling, really kind of a jerk, guy. That wasn’t my intent. I really don’t want to start over, but I’m not sure if I can go back and change it. I’ll have to explore it.

Last night, I followed some advice from Julia Cameron, author of The Artist’s Way. In order to write, or create, you have to write whether you feel like it or not, whether you have something to write or not. I’ve spent a couple years trying to think of something to write and gotten nowhere, and so I’ve put nothing down on the page. That’s changed. I’ve started writing again, so now it’s a question of seeing what comes out of my ossified brain! Wish me luck!

One thought on “Beginnings

  1. Its amazing how the character creates himself. The couple of stories I’ve started have never gone the way that I imagine them to go. The characters kind of form their own personalities. Keep going, and see what happens. Maybe something will happen that will change him.

Leave a Reply

