My Life and Times

An Engineer Poet explores the world

Goals, Strategy and Rules for Renegades

Posted by macengr on November 21, 2007

Tim Ferris did a post that inspired me to buy Rules for Renegades by Christine Comaford-Lynch.

I’ve been going through a paradigm shift lately.  Hate to use such a clichéd term, but there it is.  All my reading, all my thinking, it’s all hammering home the same lesson:  I have to create the life I want.  No one is going to give it to me, and it’s not out there already waiting for me to find it.  It doesn’t exist yet, and it’s up to me to make it happen.

 

Some telling things:  What is my ideal lifestyle?  If I had all the money I ever needed in the bank, what would I do day to day?  I do not have answers to those questions right now.  And that is a serious freaking problem.

 

I’m pondering becoming a futurist, getting a degree in Strategic Foresight. 

 

From Christine Comaford-Lynch’s book, a couple of things:

 

1.)  Supreme Confidence, gigantic, absolute, quiet confidence has to come from within and it cannot be validated by others because it’s there no matter what others think.  How many times do I have to learn this lesson?

 

2.)  She talks about business plans.  So often, she says, people have this plan:

 

            a) Develop widget

            b) ?

            c) Make millions

 

     Where b is undefined but basically tells how you are going to pull this off and get from A to C.

     For me, in the past, it’s been like this:

 

            a) Get degree

            b) ?

            c) Go to Mars, become successful in business, become a pastor, or I dare say, a futurist.

 

Well, what’s B?  It was never defined.  And that’s why I’ve been in a series of jobs I don’t care about, why I’ve never gotten to do the things I want to do.  My plans are never complete.  I get a harebrained idea, launch into it with a big cool goal and never figure out what goes in between.  It’s like playing chess and moving your first pawn to D4 and ignoring the rest of the moves to checkmate.  Usually, you’re the one that gets checkmated as you react tactically to the other players moves.

 

In other words, strategy counts.  Where are you going, and how are you going to get there?  This doesn’t mean having a rigid plan.  Instead, you need to have options.  If this doesn’t work, what will you do?  If you end up here, how will you get to there?  Once you get the degree, then what?  What options do you have?  How will you act on those options?  More importantly, are you sure that those options will give you the lifestyle you want?  Is it possible that starting this path will lead you to something else you haven’t thought of, good or bad?

 

A lot to think about.  But key and critical to making the right decision for a change.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I’m a Christian and I believe in praying about it.  But two things:  First, God gave us a brain so we could use it, and with that brain came free will.  We can choose, whether it’s a good choice or poor choice, He lets us make it.  He’ll work out His plans no matter what we do.  Second, my track record on praying before has not worked that way – usually it’s after I make the decision and commit that I have an idea that I did the right or wrong thing.

 

Like I said, a lot to think about.

 

Scott

2 Responses to “Goals, Strategy and Rules for Renegades”

  1. Ginny said

    You have to trust God, but no one else can make you happy. You and I should have a long discussion on this. I’m learning a lot as the weeks go by. I know that someone isn’t the key to me being happy, but I have to convince myself of that…. I have to trust God that He knows where I’m supposed to be.

  2. Tom Volkar said

    Scott, I’m glad to see that you know you must create the life you want. Each of us has a deeply meaningful purpose that will manifest into something special that only we can do.

    If agree with that statement check out my blog http://delightfulwork.com/. It’s a great source of info and inspiration for those who believe in personal responsibility.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 979 other followers

