My Life and Times

An Engineer Poet explores the world

My 2007 Reading List for Personal Development

Posted by macengr on January 24, 2007

I read a lot of books – generally 1 every couple of weeks. Worse yet, I buy books a lot because I see something interesting. And I get books out of the library on top of that!

The end result is that I have piles of books laying around begging to be read – and with a full time job, a wife, a child, and various other activities, not much time to read!

At the beginning of this year I sat down and made a list of the books I definitely want to read this year. So far, I’ve read three other books that aren’t even on the list, so I’m posting the list in hopes that it will add accountability. As in, at the end of the year I’ll post a follow-up stating which ones I read. I’ll also post reviews as I go.

Here it is:

The Innovator’s Dilemma, by Clayton Christensen

Becoming a Person of Influence, by John Maxwell and Jim Dornan

25 Ways to Win With People, by John Maxwell and Les Parrott

People Skills

The 48 Laws of Power, by Robert Greene

The 33 Strategies of War, by Robert Greene

Christ Plays in 10,000 Places, by Eugene H. Peterson

The E-Myth Revisited, by Michael Gerber

A Whole New Mind, by Daniel Pink

The Renaissance Soul, by Margaret Lobenstein

You: The Owner’s Manual, by Michael Roizen and Mehmet Oz

The End of the Barbary Terror, by Frederick C. Leiner

The Golden Ratio, by Mario Livio

The Little Book That Beats The Market, by Joel Greenblatt

The Bogleheads Guide to Investing, by Taylor Larimore et al

Your Money or Your Life, by Joe Dominguez and Vicki Robin

I’ve also read the following books:

The Eight, by Katherine Neville

The Immortal Game: A History of Chess, by David Shenk

The Wealthy Barber, by David Chilton (Reviewed by me here)

I’m currently reading:

The Places in Between, by Rory Stewart

3 Responses to “My 2007 Reading List for Personal Development”

  1. [...] presents My 2007 Reading List for Personal Development posted at My Life and Times, saying, "My list for the year includes finance, interpersonal [...]

  2. Gleb said

    Thanks for sharing the list with us!

    I’ve made quite a list myself, and have added a good few books to it based on your picks.

    All the best!

  3. Ive been working on some ideas about personal development at . Let me know what you think. :

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 596 other followers

